More food! And some art.

Today I had a lovely London Thursday with my friends Anni and Rachel. We first made our way to Borough Market, or, “the one with all the food.”

ImageImage

Rachel has her first oyster! 

Image

My lunch is in the bottom left of the picture above–a “Pietanic Pie” from Pieminister, which was filled with smoked haddock, salmon, and prawns. Mmmm. And I have to admit that we did some serious hovering around the free samples of chocolate, fudge, nuts, cheeses, jams, caramel spreads, cake, and honeycomb. They really like honeycomb here. 

Then we crossed Millenium Bridge and made our way to the Tate. We saw some impressive art by people like Matisse and Mondrian, but I don’t have much of an eye or mind for modern art, so we mostly chuckled at some strange things that everyone else seemed to be taking very seriously. 

While most of the art in the Tate was way too abstract for me to appreciate on any level, I did find these red squiggles really appealing. ImageImage

We were also quite captivated by this piece made by Bruce Nauman, which flickered on and off in stages to reveal the words “Violins,” “Violence,” and “Silence.” I don’t know what it means but I like it. 

After ending our day with a trip to Topshop on Oxford Street, it was such a relief to be back in our cozy little flat! I’m off to bed now. Cheerio 🙂

Leave a Reply

