Primark!

PRIMARK.

Primark. Primark. Primark. Oh. My. Goodness.

I had heard about the wonders of Primark from everyone who studied abroad in the past. They described it as Forever-21-like, but it is so much better. I almost cried…and I do almost cry at many things…but never at clothes. The clothes are stylish, good quality, SO cheap (my shirt was £2)! I left with a new purse, a pair of sunglasses, a shirt, and two infinity scarves (finally!). (Mom: they were all necessities. Really.)

A peachy-colored infinity scarf, gray wool infinity scarf, big purse that zips (i've been looking for one of those), a navy blue shirt with cute gold accents, and tortoiseshell sunglasses!

A peachy-colored infinity scarf, gray wool infinity scarf, big purse that zips (i’ve been looking for one of those), a navy blue shirt with cute gold accents, and tortoiseshell sunglasses!

I also bought some notebooks and tupperware at Pound Land, where, as promised, everything is actually a pound! Tax isn’t added on at the register, so there’s no last-minute fishing for coins or surprise cost added onto your final purchase. So very logical.

It’s Monday, so we also got our £40 food stipend from CAPA. I made the mistake of going to bed a little hungry last night, so I was up in my bed thinking about all the food I was going to buy today. One of the foods (oddly) on my mind was falafel, so tonight for dinner I got some falafel and made a sandwich with some whole grain bread* and some sort of green salad mix. I have to admit I was pretty impressed with myself for tonight’s dinner. 

OH, and before I forget, I did have my first class today. (Funny how that got lost in the excitement of whole grain bread and new sunglasses.) Mondays are Shakespeare, which is obviously extra-special to take here in the Bard’s backyard**.

My professor seems cool, and she clearly loves her subject area. Apparently Shakespeare gave us words like “eyeball” and “bedroom” and “everyday,” so I’m already a fan. The syllabus is intimidating, but I’ve found that syllabus day is usually more terrifying than the reality. We’ll be attending several plays…one of which is in an open-air theater..in february. (The syllabus says to bring a blanket, so naturally I’m already looking to buy a snowsuit.) (Fashionable friends: that was a joke. I’m not actually going to wear a snowsuit in public.)

That is all for today! Hope you’re enjoying the blog!

*The bread I got is SO GOOD. It’s just normal sliced bread..like a straight up loaf…but it is the perfect blend of softness and graininess. Quality if I do say so myself.

**I thought this was a thing that real people said, but I googled it and it appears that “the bard’s backyard” is not a thing that is said.

3 thoughts on “Primark!

  1. Pingback: Ealing! « Liz in London

Leave a Reply

