Protein!

You can tell that things have been pretty ordinary around here because today’s post is all about chicken.

But you know what? It was post-worthy. Simple joys, everyone. Simple joys.

While Skyping my parents and cousins last night, I was caught in the act of eating one of my weirder dinner concoctions. Grilled cheese with raspberry jam. It’s a thing, okay?! (Instructions: click on the word “thing.”)

It reasonably followed that my parents asked if I have been eating enough protein. Hm. Hmmmm. Well…there was that jar of peanut butter that I definitely finished in about 10 days….and does milk have protein in it? Because I put milk in my cereal. And maybe the cheese from my grilled cheeses. Nope? Ok.

Since it was clearly time to buy some real protein, I finally went to Tesco and bought myself some chicken. So far, my “real” meals have been very vegetarian, just because I don’t like the thought of touching raw meat and then having to store it and thaw the leftovers and worry about seasoning it…..but this was SO EASY. Everyone needs to start cooking their own chicken from the age of 10, because it was such a joyously simple experience and it ended in such deliciousness!

I will admit, though, raw chicken is GROSS (pronounced: guh-ROSS).

The finished product was fantabulous. Chicken, strawberries, avocado, and my favorite leafy green….ROCKET!

photo (19)

In the words of Millard Fillmore, “The nourishment is palatable.”

(I bet you forgot we had a president named Millard Fillmore. I also bet thisĀ is a misquote.)

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

